New functionality vs. new features

Jul 29, 2009 at 5:29 PM
Edited Jul 29, 2009 at 5:31 PM

I have read through most of what has been posted in the discussion groups and feature requests listed in the Issue Tracker and I would like to make a distinction between 'features' and 'functionality' in these posts. I know the terms are used interchangeably, but I don't know if we should.

When I have seen references toward menus, buttons, links, GedCom processing and the like, I consider those to be functionality requests. Though these are things I am interested in, I am not a good enough programmer to help much with this type of stuff. I am a database engineer by trade and just dabble in programming. I'll leave this type of stuff out of this post.

When I think of features, I think of things that are pertinent to performing tasks related to collecting and organizing my family history. This includes functionality that is not currently a part of Family.Show.

With that, I would like to list some functionality that I feel is missing (knowing some of it has been mentioned before). I am going to list some of them and probably reference other programs to give an idea of good ways to implement if I know of them. This is not an exhaustive list, just the most important items:

Source citations:

1. Model after 'Legacy' for either manual entry or a wizard type format (question/answer)
    2. Easily accessible source button beside each screen field that requires sourcing – similar to Ancestry.com's online interface

3. Interface to internet sites to directly pull source information in accepted source reference format

4. Download source files and pictures (Census pictures, SSDI references, etc) directly into an established or user defined directory structure

Interface directly with internet sites like Ancestry.com, Rootsweb and the like:

1. This is one thing Family Tree Maker 2009 does that almost works correctly when interfacing with Ancestry.com